Margravine Cemetery is also known as Hammersmith Old Cemetery. It
was a long time coming after the act of parliament which saw the creation of the Magnificent Seven. The Burial Ground Committee
formed by the Hammersmith Vestry, took fifteen years to open the cemetery, and in the end, it was done with urgency after
an outbreak of cholera in the area.
The 25th of November 1869 saw the official opening of Margravine
Cemetery. Covering 10 acres, and later extended to 16.5, the Cemetery was estimated to have a capacity of 12,000 graves. It
was divided into two unequal areas the larger one for Anglicans and the lesser area for the non-conformists. Each area had
it's own chapel with the superintendents house at the main gate and a North and South Lodge for the grave digger's and their
By 1904 the Cemetery was becoming full which prompted the Hammersmith
Vestry to purchase 32 acres of land in Lower Richmond Road. Some 22 years later in 1926 this became Hammersmith (New) Cemetery
which finally relived the pressure from the now bursting (83,000 interments) Margravine Cemetery.
During World War II the Cemetery was bombed three times. Reports
at the time described a large crater exposing decomposing remains which provided a nasally offensive situation for the local
In 1951 Margravine Cemetery became a Garden Of Rest and in an attempt
to improve upon it's dilapidated appearance the local council decided a clearance of memorials was needed. Thankfully after
much local protest a varied selection of headstones and tombs were preserved although it would seem the Anglican Chapel fell
victim and was subsequently demolished in 1953.